Prime 5: Quickest centuries in IPL | Cricket Information

NEW DELHI: Scoring a century within the T20 format isn’t a straightforward job by any stretch of the creativeness. With many of the modern-era batters trying to hit the ball out of the park on a regular basis, it turns into more and more troublesome for them to outlive for a very long time and go on to attain a ton within the shortest format. The identical is true for the Indian Premier League, the place batsmen have all the time regarded to play for the crew slightly than worrying about private landmarks.
Attending to the three-figure mark in a brief time period is difficult. However there have been a number of superhuman efforts from the batsmen within the match, the place they haven’t solely scored centuries, but in addition finished it in double fast time, in flip benefiting their crew in an enormous means. right here takes a have a look at the quickest centuries scored within the IPL over the previous 12 editions:
Chris Gayle (2013) – 30 balls

On April 23, 2013 the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, together with the remainder of the world witnessed a carnage by Chris Gayle, because the Jamaican scored the quickest century ever within the IPL towards Pune Warriors off simply 30 balls. Enjoying for Royal Challengers Bangalore, the Gayle storm hit the stadium because the followers witnessed an influence hitting masterclass from the left-hander. With out breaking a sweat, Gayle, in that match, mercilessly smacked the Pune bowlers all around the park, finally ending with a thoughts boggling 66-ball 175* — the very best rating by a batsman within the IPL and in T20 cricket. Throughout his blitz, Gayle smashed 13 fours and 17 sixes at an astounding strike price of over 266. In a 102-minute knock, the West Indian introduced the opposition bowlers to their knees, as nobody had any thought sort out the ruthless batting by the six hitting machine. Using on that effort by Gayle, RCB scored 263/5 — the very best ever crew whole in IPL. Shocked by the trouble from Gayle, Pune Warriors simply did not know react within the mammoth run-chase and have been finally restricted to 133/9, handing RCB a 130-run win in that unforgettable match.
Yusuf Pathan (2010) – 37 balls

There haven’t been many cases in cricket’s historical past when a mind-boggling effort from a batsman has gone in useless. In a single such occasion on March 13, 2010, a gutted Yusuf Pathan was left feeling all the load of disappointments after his crew, Rajasthan Royals misplaced the match by simply 4 runs whereas in pursuit of the goal of 213 set by Mumbai Indians. Even after scoring a panoramic ton that got here off simply 37 balls, an unlucky run out on the fallacious juncture of the chase meant that regardless of the implausible effort his crew misplaced the nail-biter. However the knock from Yusuf received hearts throughout, as his valiant effort made him an in a single day sensation within the match. For 3 years, Yusuf held the report of the quickest IPL ton, earlier than RCB’s Chris Galye broke it in 2013. With eight fours and 9 sixes, Yusuf in that match, struck the ball at a lethal strike price of over 270, making the MI bowlers simply fell helpless. The match stays one of the crucial dramatic clashes in IPL historical past.

David Miller (2013) – 38 balls

Arguably one of the crucial entertaining editions of the IPL was 2013, the place the cricketing world witnessed a slew of information being damaged and new ones made. From top-notch batting performances to nerve-wracking run chases and tense finishes, the sixth version of the cricketing extravaganza witnessed all of it. After a record-shattering ‘Gayle storm’ earlier within the season, the followers, a number of days later, witnessed one of the crucial pleasant T20 knocks ever performed in a run-chase. And it was the dynamic South African batsman David Miller, who produced the sensational knock for Kings XI Punjab towards the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Chasing a frightening 191, Miller got here in at no. 5 and produced the T20 knock of his life, hitting a 38-ball ton and successful the sport for his crew. From 95/four after 13 overs, within the subsequent 54-minutes ‘Killer Miller’ modified the whole lot, hitting a flurry of boundaries that included eight fours and seven sixes. With a colossal strike price of over 265, Miller left RCB shell-shocked, taking his crew to a 6-wicket win with 12 balls to spare. With Miller on 95 and simply three runs to win, the six from the left-hander to take his crew throughout the finish-line and in addition attain a private three-figure mark made the ton much more particular.
Adam Gilchrist (2008) – 42 balls

For Australia’s Adam Gilchrist, one of the crucial damaging top-order batsmen to have ever performed the sport, IPL was the perfect platform to showcase his superhuman batting abilities. And Gilchrist did not miss an opportunity to entertain the followers, as he performed among the most devastating knocks within the match. And probably the most ferocious of all of them was his 42-ball ton that he struck for Deccan Chargers towards Mumbai Indians on April 27, 2008. Chasing a tough whole of 155, Gilchrist produced a masterclass, main his crew to an exceptional 10-wicket win. With VVS Laxman (37*) watching the ‘Gilchrist Mayhem’ from the opposite finish, the left-hander took each MI bowler to the cleaners. With a complete of 9 fours and 10 sixes, Gilchrist finally went on to attain an unbeaten 109 off 47 balls that got here at a strike price of over 231. Even after 12 editions of the match, Gilchrist’s knock nonetheless stands fourth on the record of quickest centuries scored within the IPL.
AB de Villiers (2016) and David Warner (2017) – 43 balls

Two of probably the most devastating modern-day greats AB de Villiers and David Warner have been a category aside within the IPL. Although hailing from international shores, the 2 batsmen, with their unimaginable batting abilities have received the hearts of the Indian followers. Each de Villiers and Warner have performed innumerable unfrogettable knocks through the years. However probably the most cherished knocks from De Villiers and Warner maybe have been scored in 2016 and 2017 respectively, once they scored a 43-ball century every for his or her groups. Whereas De Villiers produced the masterclass towards Gujarat Lions at their dwelling floor, the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, Warner achieved the feat towards Kolkata Knight Riders on the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad. Throughout his unbeaten 52-ball 129, de Villiers hit 10 fours and 12 sixes at a strike price of over 248 to arrange an RCB win. Then again, Warner smoked 126 off 59 balls, together with 10 fours and eight sixes to blow away KKR. The 2 stars collectively stand fifth on the record of quickest centuries within the IPL.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: