Gokulam Kerala script unimaginable comeback to win maiden I-League title | Soccer Information

KOLKATA: Gokulam Kerala FC on Saturday clinched their maiden I-League title in spectacular vogue as they got here again from a aim all the way down to beat TRAU 4-1 within the closing match of the season right here.
Bidyashagar Singh’s 23rd minute strike did little to cease the Gokulam juggernaut as targets by Sharif Mohamed (69th), Emil Benny (74th), Dennis Antwi (77th) and Mohammad Rashid (90+6) handed them the trophy.
With Churchill Brothers successful 3-2 in opposition to Punjab FC within the day’s different match held concurrently at one other venue right here, Gokulam shared factors (29) with the Goan aspect however had been topped champions on head-to-head report.
Within the two matches the 2 sides had performed within the season, Churchill had gained 3-2 as soon as whereas Gokulam had emerged 3-Zero victorious within the different.
Gokulam thus certified for the group stage of the AFC Cup subsequent season, Asia’s second tier membership competitors, as I-League champions. Additionally they turned the primary aspect from Kerala to win the I-League title.
The successful group’s coach Vincenzo Alberto Annese couldn’t conceal his pleasure at his gamers’ achievement.
“That is the perfect day of my life. I really feel so blissful and I really feel wonderful to be topped a champion. I’m immensely happy with my group and we deserved to be champions. We outscored all groups and we’ve performed like champions on this season,” Annese stated.
“This implies all the things to me. That is my first season in India and it has already been a really particular one. We’ve got a really particular group and no person performs the type of soccer that we play,” he added.
Bidyshagar, a revelation within the I-League very like his group TRAU, opened the scoring when he produced an excellent end from exterior the field within the 23rd minute.
Simply after resumption, Chanso Horam had a golden alternative handy TRAU their second aim of the match however his chip shot went inches over the bar, following a nice counter-attacking transfer.
Gokulam ahead Dennis Antwi failed to search out the online within the 62nd minute as his header went agonisingly vast off an Emil Benny cross from the proper flank.
Sharif Mohamed’s free kick within the 69th minute from the sting of the field grabbed the equaliser for Gokulam Kerala FC. The comeback was properly on the right track within the 74th minute when Emil Benny tussled previous his marker and slotted house by way of Amrit Gope’s legs handy Gokulam the lead.
Three minutes later, Dennis Antwi scored to increase the lead.
After TRAU participant Vincy Barreto was despatched off within the added time, Mohammed Rashid scored the fourth aim for Gokulam, including extra gloss to finish the exceptional comeback.
Within the different match, Churchill surged into the lead within the ninth minute when Clayvin Zuniga was introduced down contained in the field. Off the resultant penalty, Slovenian striker Luka Majcen transformed from the spot by sending rival custodian Jaspreet Singh the incorrect approach.
Churchill doubled their lead within the 25th minute by way of Zuniga who scored his second aim within the first half added time to offer the Goan aspect a 3-Zero lead.
Going through an uphill activity, Punjab FC managed to drag one again within the 65th minute by way of Joseba Beitia and added one other 4 minutes later by way of Papa Diawara.
Gokulam pocketed Rs 1 crore as prize cash whereas the second, third and fourth-placed groups within the desk obtained Rs 60 lakh, Rs 40 lakh and Rs 25 lakh respectively.
Bidyashagar Singh (TRAU) gained the best aim scorer award (Rs 2.5 lakh) together with Hero of the League Award (Rs 5 lakh). The Greatest goalkeeper award (Rs 2.5 lakh) went to Kiran Limbu of Punjab FC. Syed Abdul Rahim Award for finest coach went to Nandakumar Singh of TRAU.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: